Basket ‘o booties

I really like pleasing arrangements of words. So much so that I will apparently design gifts around, not how they look or how functional they are, but how the name of the gift sounds. I am not the most practical of gift-givers that way.

But I think booties are a practical gift for parents-to-be, especially when the pregnant lady has specifically asked you to knit booties, since she herself is a knitter but hates knitting on DPNs. She made some super cute sweaters for her kid and friends’ kids, but just doesn’t feel up to all the wrangling required for making tiny shoes for tiny feet (which, after knitting a bunch of those things, I totally get).

DSC_0261

But the end results are so cute and my sister and brother in law liked them so much, I really didn’t mind all the end-weaving, fiddly car-knitting, swearing, and wrist/finger nerve damage. Here’s a brief run down of what went into the basket o’ booties. (And if you look at the project pages, you’ll see that re: our discussion last time about picking up stitches, I did not pick up the appropriate number for ANY of these knits.)

"Eco baby booties"
Eco Baby Booties in Ella Rae worsted
Cute and quick, because they’re knit on worsted. I recommend two things: knitting with dark yarn (because there’s no way to get the seam to look neat) and sewing down the little rolled edge.

Magic slippers #2
Magic slippers 2 in KPPPM
These are the most satisfying little knit ever.

Magic booties #1
Magic slippers 1 in Plymouth Sockotta
These are the ugliest booties ever. But I guess the baby won’t get lost in a crowd? You know how babies are always doing that.

DSC_0190
Newborn lace socks in Dalegarn Baby Ull
Oh god my patio table is filthy. Pretend I didn’t put white baby socks on it. Also the colors are all wonky in this shot and I can’t fix them so I gave up.
These are really cute. Would knit again A++++++.

DSC_0196
Saartje’s bootees in Dalegarn Baby Ull
Adorbs. Right? You knew that.

DSC_0179

I will add though, that if you haven’t knit these before you should know that they take as long to seam and weave ends in as they do to knit. After knitting they resemble a tiny garter stitch jellyfish and it’s only another 15 minutes of sewing that makes them into the cute little accessories you see above. Also: do not do this in a car. Seaming these is a surefire way to car sickness and a headache. (But still worth it because, did you see the wee buttons and straps?) There is a version of these knit in the round, but I missed it on the first pattern hunt and was pressed enough for time that I just wanted to knit two of a pattern I’d already memorized.

DSC_0200
Saartje’s bootees 2 in Dalegarn Baby Ull

CUTER. I reluctantly chose the pink flower buttons for these after realizing that the little skull buttons at JoAnn’s were too big.

DSC_0185
Sweet Baby Jayne in Vanna’s Choice
“Baby scoots down the hall in that hat, people know she’s not afraid of anything.” (Explanation video.) This was an awesome knit for sci-fi fan parents. My brother in law got it immediately, which was exactly the reaction I hoped for. I think a grown-man sized Jayne hat might be in order right around Halloween time.

I have one more baby shower to go to for the Niecelet, and I’m thinking of knitting another hat to go along with my store-bought gift. Probably Adrian’s Town-down Bonnet with the ears, of course. Because who doesn’t like a baby in a hat with ears? (Commies.)

3 Comments

Filed under Baby, FOs, Hats, Knitting, Lace, Niecelet, Socks

3 responses to “Basket ‘o booties

  1. Ashley

    you are a champ. I’ve knit 2 pairs of baby booties ever and after the second pair was like “yeah, eff that FOREVER.” I’d rather knit a whole sweater. Your sister better recognize, is what I’m saying.

  2. Holy crap I didn’t realize just how many booties you made! I’m firmly in your sister’s camp on this one – I absolutely hate knitting them, so I’m impressed you managed to deal with all those ends and tiny stupid seams, instead of just casting 900 half-finished booties aside and just buying her something (what I would have done). The two saartjes are definitely my faves, especially with those cute buttons!

  3. Did you say NERVE DAMAGE?? Yeah, I can only imagine. I have never knit booties (only baby socks) so I am so impressed with what you’ve done. I most esp. like the Newborn Lace socks, so I have filed that away in case I ever have to make baby socks. But I am like Ashley, I just knit a tiny sweater and am done with it!

Leave a Reply

